Oct 09, 2019
[ Moved here from https://bvckup2.com/support/forum/topic/499/6766
Using my method and setting "Archive backup copies of deleted items", I was finding several files in the destination that were no longer in the source and had not been moved to the destination "$Archive (Bvckup 2)" folder. Although there were some older files in that folder. Re-running the job copied new source files over, but those old files seemed stuck.
When I switched to your method of setting the pattern, things worked as expected: all destination files not still found in the source were immediately moved to Archive.
Now, I may have confused things by changing a filename manually in the destination ... not sure... but it would probably only have been one.
So, just an FYI.
Alex Pankratov :
Oct 09, 2019
Archiving doesn't depend on the exclude/include setup in the slightest. All it does is it substitutes all "delete" steps with "move to $archive".
Meaning that the discrepancy in behavior you saw was due to what the program perceived in a need of deletion. That in turn depends strictly on the differences between source and destination trees as seen by the program (which _is_ a subject to exclusion/inclusion rules).
When your backup gets out of sync with the source, it's invariably due to using destination snapshot option and making manual changes to the backup tree. (Using a snapshot forces the program to cache destination file index between the runs and to *not* scan destination on all runs except for the very first one).
Then, when you changed the excl/incl rules, it forced the re-scan, so the destination tree was rebuild afresh and picked up whatever discrepancies.